New General Assembly brings reshuffling of House committees; LaRock restored to seats

Changes in the House of Delegates have also led to changes in committee membership as Republicans take control of the lower house.

Membership of a committee can have consequences as General Assembly bills are combined, rewritten or entirely deleted in these meeting rooms. New Speaker of the House of Delegates Todd Gilbert (R-15) announced committee assignments on Wednesday, Jan. 12 — and Del. Dave A. LaRock (R-33) has seen his membership on these committees change dramatically.

Last year, LaRock was removed from his committee duties by the then Democratic leadership following his participation in the Jan. 6 protest and criticism that he promulgated election conspiracy theories. This year, he finds himself on three of the most important committees of the Chamber, in particular for Loudoun: Counties, cities and towns; Education; and Transport, where he will be vice-president.

“I am honored that Chairman Gilbert has appointed me vice-chairman of the transportation committee, as well as to serve on the education committee and the counties, towns and villages committee,” LaRock said in a statement. “These committees oversee and enact laws dealing with very important aspects of the daily lives of citizens of Virginia, and I look forward to continuing to serve and work to improve the Commonwealth in these areas.”

LaRock will also hold leadership positions on certain subcommittees. He will chair the transportation subcommittee on traffic safety and policy, as well as the counties, cities and towns subcommittee on land use planning. He will also serve on the education subcommittee responsible for K-12 policy legislation.

“Loudoun County has been at the center of many controversies that influenced the 2021 election in Virginia,” LaRock said. “I look forward to influencing this committee and working closely with Governor Youngkin as we refocus on providing excellent education accessible to all Virginians.”

Other Loudoun delegates, all Democrats, will still serve on committees, although none serve in leadership at the committee level.

Of the. Wendy W. Gooditis (D-10) will serve on agriculture, Chesapeake and natural resources; Commerce and Energy, Counties, Towns and Villages, and Labor and Commerce.

Of the. David A. Reid (D-32) will serve on appropriations, privileges and elections, and transportation.

Of the. Karrie K. Delaney (D-67) will serve on the courts; Health, Welfare and Institutions; and Transportation.

Of the. Irene Shin (D-86) will serve on communications, technology and innovation; and over counties, towns and villages.

Of the. Suhas Subramanyam (D-87) will serve in counties, towns and villages; Education; and Transportation.

And Del. Kathleen Murphy (D-34) will serve in Finance, General Law and Transportation.

Senators were also appointed to their committees.

Sen. John J. Bell (D-13) will serve on Commerce and Labor, General Laws and Technology, Local Government, and Privileges and Elections.

Senator Jennifer B. Boysko (D-33) will serve on general law and technology, the judiciary, privileges and elections, rehabilitation and social services, and transportation.

Senator Barbara A. Favola (D-31) will chair rehabilitation and social services and serve in agriculture, conservation and natural resources; local government; Rules; and Transportation.

And Sen. Jill Holtzman Vogel (R-27) will serve on finance and appropriations; General laws and technology; privileges and elections; and Rules.

Lawmakers are back in Richmond now; this year’s General Assembly session began on 12 January. Transition day, the date on which a bill must leave the chamber where it was introduced or be left for the year, is February 16. The General Assembly is scheduled to adjourn on March 12.

Comments are closed.